Show/Hide and Opt-in/out Cookie Consent Based on Geo-Targeting
Description
We currently have a client that is utilizing the FS CC Component as intended, but wants it to only fire for users in specific states / countries, since the primary state that they operate in does not require explicit consent.
Expected Behavior
Is there a way to ensure CC only runs if the user is in explicit-consent locations (ie. CA, VA, Canada, UK, etc.), knowing that we do not have direct access to the code being rendered by the component?
Additional Context
Would love similar functionality to https://www.enzuzo.com/ or other platforms that offer geo-targeted CC. Ultimately, if this is not possible, multiple clients of ours that share the same experience will be looking to alternative solutions.
Geolocation is currently not supported in Cookie Consent.
It is a feature we have in our development pipeline for this year, but we do not have an exact ETA yet.
If this feature is urgent, we recommend looking into alternative solutions that already support it. Otherwise, you’re welcome to wait until we release this update.
Hey @Support-Luis is this being released as part of the December product updates? Can you share a link if there are any details on how to use this? Thanks!
@Support-Luis do you have a thumb in the wind timeline for this feature? I am going to need to move a website to another consent service sooner than later but really don’t want to. If I have an idea of the approx timeline I might be able to hold off for a bit.
OK I got the impression it was any day now - I will probably need to move the project to another solution as there is a total analytics blackout with so few people in the US clicking accept on the opt-in cookie.
Hey, @Support-Luis will geo-targeting allow us to set cookies to opt-out/opt-in for specific countries? For example, will we be able to set opt-out for non-EU countries, and opt-in for EU countries?
Hey @Support-Luis, I see the new V2 of Consent Pro released - that is great! There used to be a basic plan in V1 for a single site but with all the features. It looks like I will need to purchase a Premium plan, so the old lifetime plan is no longer any good. Is that correct?
Also, it does not look like there is a migration path from V1 to V2. In billing, I cannot upgrade - do I need to cancel my old lifetime plan and buy a new premium plan? Is there a coupon for existing subscribers to migrate?
Also, the docs are very light on migration from V1 to V2. Is there anything better than what is in the current docs coming for migration as I assume you have lots of users that will want to migrate?
No need to cancel the current subscription. We are fixing the billing issue. Apologies for the inconvenience
Regarding the migration, the docs are light because migration is really simple
Sharing the required steps below
I am a v1 user who wants to use v2 features
Any modification made in the app to use V2 features, such as geolocation, the new banner structure, or AI categorization, will trigger a script update and require the banner to be replaced.
To complete the migration, the user must:
Create a new banner or replace the existing banner.
Add the new Consent Pro script to the custom code <head> section.
Remove the legacy Consent Pro code block in the Code Added by Apps section.
Scan the website and review the instructions in the Actions tab.
After publishing the project, the new banner will function properly, and the user will have access to all v2 features, such as scan to detect trackers and consent logs.
Do not worry. When you replace or create a new banner, you will see all the instructions to complete the migration in the Actions tab.
Thanks @Support-Luis! Do we need to have the billing fixed / updated first before we can start the migration? Any timeframe this is expected to be fixed? Also, will we have the Premium plan if we paid the $199 for the original plan or will we need to pay again?
I don’t see a lot of the options in the Consent Pro app inside of Webflow. I assume they are only there if you have the Premium plan. Is that correct?
Yes, I recommend waiting for the plan upgrade before migrating to v2. We are already working on the billing issue, and it should be resolved soon. I will keep you updated.
Also, will we have the Premium plan if we paid the $199 for the original plan or will we need to pay again?
No need to purchase a new plan. You will only need to pay the difference for the Premium plan, which is 50.